ISO 45001 Certification

ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety Standard

ISO 45001 is the new ISO Standard for Occupational Health and Safety. It has become one of the most eagerly awaited standards in the world, and is set to drastically improve workplace safety standards.

According to the ISO website, a work-related death from injury or disease, happens every 15 seconds. This is an astounding statistic. The ISO 45001 Standard is specifically designed to help companies in all sectors, of all sizes, to reduce workplace illness and injuries across the world.

The project committee developing this standard is ISO/PC 283, Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems, with BSI serving as the committee secretariat. There are more than 70 different countries involved in the development of ISO 45001.

“Implementing a strong occupational health and safety management system helps organisations reduce accidents and ill health, avoid costly prosecutions, perhaps even reduce insurance costs, as well as create a culture of positivity in the organisation when its people see that their needs are being taken into account,” explains David Smith, Chair of the committee. “Wide adoption of ISO 45001 should reduce the horror stories in the media of poor OHS management leading to loss of life, injury and large-scale disasters, as seen in the factory buildings around the world.”

ISO 45001 is being developed with the intention of being compatible with other management systems such as ISO 9001 Quality Management and ISO 14001 Environmental Management. This will make it easy for organisations whom already have ISO 9001 and/or ISO 14001 can implement ISO 45001 with ease.

As the ISO 45001 document has now moved to the Draft International Standard stage, it is now up for public consultation. This means that national member bodies of ISO can vote and have their say on the contents of the standard. If the final outcome of the three month balloting is positive, then ISO 45001 will move to the Final Draft International Standard. All going well and with positive outcomes, it is expected that the finalised standard for occupational health and safety will be published by late 2016 to early 2017.

You can find out more information about ISO 45001 via the links below:
Standards Development
ISO Member

Some of this information was taken from the ISO website.